I decided to start this guide as a way of bettering my own skills as a reader. It will consist of different parts including interpretations for all the cards, which will become available one by one through the deck. This first post is an overview of the deck as a whole.

What is Tarot reading? Simply put it is a system of divination that is used as a spiritual guide for your life and your Soul's purpose. The most beautiful thing about The Tarot is there is a universal theme among all the cards: The beginning to the ending. This is most often represented as past, present and future. 

The Tarot consists of seventy-eight cards and is split into sections called The Major Arcana and The Minor Arcana. Arcana means secrets and mysteries - which is what many use Tarot reading to uncover.

The Major Arcana:

The Major Arcana represents the universal aspects of the human experience (innocence, wisdom, intellect, emotion and intuition). These twenty-two cards are the heart and soul of the deck and must always take precedence in our readings. When they turn up you are receiving what is needed for spiritual growth and understanding. Keeping in tune with the beginning and ending theme of The Tarot the Major Arcana starts with innocence and ends with knowledge.

0: The Fool - Uranus
I: The Magician – Mercury
II: The High Priestess – the Moon
III: The Empress - Venus
IV: The Emperor - Aries
V: The Hierophant - Taurus
VI: The Lovers - Gemini
VII: The Chariot - Cancer
VIII: Strength - Leo
IX: The Hermit – Virgo & Chiron
X: Wheel of Fortune - Jupiter
XI: Justice - Libra
XII: The Hanged Man - Neptune
XIII: Death - Scorpio
XIV: Temperance - Sagittarius
XV: The Devil - Capricorn
XVI: The Tower - Mars
XVII: The Star - Aquarius
XVIII: The Moon - Pisces
XIX: The Sun – The Sun
XX: Judgment - Pluto
XXI: The World - Saturn

The Minor Arcana:

The Minor Arcana represents our daily decisions, actions and feelings. They are support/guide cards when next to Major Arcana. They are divided into four suits with numbered cards Ace through Ten and four Court Cards. 


Wands: Spiritual - Fire - Aries, Leo, Sagittarius
Pentacles: Material - Earth - Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn
Swords: Mental - Air - Gemini, Libra, Aquarius
Cups: Emotional - Water - Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces 

Numbered Cards:

Aces, Twos, Threes: beginning
Fours, Fives, Sixes: middle
Sevens, Eights, Nines: ending
Tens: completion

Court Cards:
These cards can (and most often are) people involved in life events and sometimes represent levels of maturity.

Page: messages
Knight: movement
Queen: creators
King: managers

- Claire

Links to the different sections will arrive as they are completed. 
The next article will be about The Fool. 

1 comment:

  1. Este es un artículo muy deseable. Estás haciendo que estos párrafos sean emocionantes y atractivos. Le das a los lectores un montón de cosas que considerar, Respeto mucho tu forma de escribir, y me gusta que escribas de contenido relacionado con tarot.